ITEM 1



5145

NORTH YORKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting of the County Council held at County Hall, Northallerton on Wednesday, 13 November 2013.

PRESENT:-

County Councillor Bernard Bateman MBE in the Chair.

County Councillors Val Arnold, Margaret Atkinson, Andrew Backhouse, Arthur Barker, Derek Bastiman, David Billing, John Blackburn, John Blackie, David Blades, Eric Broadbent, Jean Butterfield, Liz Casling, David Chance, Jim Clark, John Clark, Gareth Dadd, Margaret-Ann de Courcey-Bayley, Polly English, Andrew Goss, Helen Grant, Bryn Griffiths, Tony Hall, Michael Harrison, Roger Harrison-Topham, Michael Heseltine, Robert Heseltine, Peter Horton, Bill Hoult, David Ireton, David Jeffels, Janet Jefferson, Mike Jordan, Carl Les, Cliff Lunn, Don Mackenzie, Penny Marsden, Brian Marshall, Shelagh Marshall, Chris Metcalfe, Heather Moorhouse, Patrick Mulligan, Robert Packham, Stuart Parsons, Chris Pearson, Joe Plant, John Ritchie, Janet Sanderson, John Savage, Elizabeth Shields, David Simister, Peter Sowray, Tim Swales, Helen Swiers, Cliff Trotter, John Weighell, James Windass and Clare Wood.

CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN ON JANE KENYON

It was moved by County Councillor Michael Heseltine and seconded by County Councillor Carl Les:

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon Jane Kenyon in recognition of the eminent service rendered by her to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1989 to 2013."

RESOLVED -

31. That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council is conferred upon Jane Kenyon in recognition of the eminent service rendered by her to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1989 to 2013.

The Chairman of the County Council, County Councillor Bernard Bateman MBE, presented Honorary Alderman Jane Kenyon with an Honorary Alderman's badge of office and a framed illuminated certificate.

Honorary Alderman Jane Kenyon thanked the Chairman and the County Council for the honour which had been conferred on her.

CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN ON MICHAEL S KNAGGS

It was moved by County Councillor John Blackburn and seconded by County Councillor Peter Sowray:

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon Michael S Knaggs in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1985 to 1989 and 1997 to 2013."

RESOLVED -

32. That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council is conferred upon Michael S Knaggs in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1985 to 1989 and 1997 to 2013."

The Chairman of the County Council, County Councillor Bernard Bateman MBE, presented Honorary Alderman Michael S Knaggs with an Honorary Alderman's badge of office and a framed illuminated certificate.

Honorary Alderman Michael S Knaggs thanked the Chairman and the County Council for the honour which had been conferred on him.

CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN ON JOHN W MARSHALL

It was moved by County Councillor Margaret-Ann de Courcey-Bayley and seconded by County Councillor Andrew Goss:

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon John W Marshall in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1973 to 1977 and 1981 to 2013."

RESOLVED -

33. "That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council is conferred upon John W Marshall in recognition of the eminent service rendered by him to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1973 to 1977 and 1981 to 2013."

The Chairman of the County Council, County Councillor Bernard Bateman MBE, presented Honorary Alderman John W Marshall with an Honorary Alderman's badge of office and a framed illuminated certificate.

Honorary Alderman John W Marshall thanked the Chairman and the County Council for the honour which had been conferred on him.

CONFERMENT OF THE TITLE OF HONORARY ALDERMAN ON CAROLINE SEYMOUR

It was moved by County Councillor Bill Hoult and seconded by County Councillor Polly English:

"That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council be conferred upon Caroline Seymour in recognition of the eminent service rendered by her to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1989 to 2013."

RESOLVED -

34. That pursuant to the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of North Yorkshire County Council is conferred upon Caroline Seymour in recognition of the eminent service rendered by her to the North Yorkshire County Council as a County Councillor from 1989 to 2013.

The Chairman of the County Council, County Councillor Bernard Bateman MBE, presented Honorary Alderman Caroline Seymour with an Honorary Alderman's badge of office and a framed illuminated certificate.

Honorary Alderman Caroline Seymour thanked the Chairman and the County Council for the honour which had been conferred on her.